Questions to Ask About Board Games

David Germain
Dec 29, 2019

--

Photo by michal beitz.

I’ve become more involved in board gaming over the past year. During this time I’ve played, watched, and read about a lot of different games. Each offers players something different.

So I have wondered: “Which game is the best for me?”

But this is a big question, too big to answer straightaway and without any preparation. So I have decided on a plan. I will answer some small questions that explore surrounding topics. Then a few medium sized questions that lay a strong foundation. Finally, I’ll answer the largest question.

Here’s the plan:

  1. What is a board game?
  2. What is the goal of a board game?
  3. What aspects of board games do I like?
  4. Which category of board games has these aspects?
  5. What are the specific board games in this category?
  6. Which game is the best for me?

--

--